Helping to Make a Difference

RGEM Faculty Mentors

Director: Richard Tapia, RGEM Director & University Professor, Maxfield-Oshman Professor  in Engineering, Professor in Computational & Applied Mathematics (rtapia@rice.edu), website

Steering Committee:

  • School of Humanities — Jose Aranda, Sarofim Associate Professor in English, aranda@rice.edu, Director of the Americas Research Center, website
  • School of Engineering — Illya Hicks, Professor in Computational & Applied Mathematics, ivhicks@rice.edu, Faculty Advisor to the President, website 
  • School of Natural Sciences
    • Angel Marti, Professor in Chemistry, Bioengineering, Material Sciences & Nanoengineering, amarti@rice.edu, website
    • Rosa Uribe, Assistant Professor in BioSciences, rosar.uribe@rice.edu, website
    • Seiichi Matsuda, Professor in Chemistry & BioSciences, matsuda@rice.edu - Dean of Graduate & Postdoctoral Studies, Interim Provost, website
  • School of Social Sciences —  Ruth Lopez-Turley, Professor in Sociology, turley@rice.edu- Director of the Houston Education Research Consortium, website
  • Staff Member: Leticia Velazquez (leti@rice.edu)